The Age of the Purple Belt…and other reflections for the year.

10868271_10154962019260285_8283208309403877460_nThree and a half years ago, I made a conscious decision to take up a new hobby, a physical activity, one where I could see myself improve and maintain motivation by working with others. I also wanted to take a badass hobby that I can brag to the ladies about.

So I began training at Gracie Barra Calgary, putting up with what were long commutes (but now a short one because the school moved) to train 2-3 hours 5-6 days a week. I’ve always had Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu within my scope. Having had a wrestling background and after a year or two of training boxing and Muay Thai, I knew I had a knack for grappling.

After three and a half years, I earned my Purple Belt.

I sometimes have a knack for diluting monumental moments by bracing myself for it. Sometimes the feeling of excitement or being caught off guard by sudden surprises can give the nerves a good wringing. But when the next round of promotions started coming around I either expected to get my purple belt, or stay at my fourth stripe blue belt for another few months

And that I guess makes for an interesting lesson. Always have some clear vision of where your path lies with every outcome/situation. Of course it’s impossible to predict things 100%, one never knows what will come up. I knew I was going train consistently like I have been since I started, but if I had stayed a blue belt I wouldn’t have felt any negativity having seen peers at my level or peers who’s levels I constantly chase reach the next…chapter of their training. But if I had stayed a blue belt I would have stayed on course and probably would have enjoyed the next few tournaments being highly experienced in my division.
That said, after years of competing, I finally got my first gold medal. Watching the reactions I received from my peers and from my friends, gold is gold. I largely feel like I could have done better or could have competed more. But looking back, I learned that I have this habit of not giving myself enough credit in life and most of the things I do. And it’s still a constant reminder to myself, to just sit back, and enjoy the spoils of my conquest.

The best blessings are the ones we know we deserve and earned.

Jiu-Jitsu has, from the beginning, done a lot to teach me the lessons I need to apply to life outside of the mats. And with that I bridge into the rest of the year. With 2015 nearing I look back at 2014 and count it as one of the most introspective I’ve had. Without going into huge detail I can summarize it as having started with a lot of confusion and personal frustration and ending with things and people I’m largely grateful for. Getting back into the competition scene I closely observed my more succesful peers and was reminded that they were successful because of their consistent commitment to training and I learned and aim to live a balanced life that allows me to complete my goals in Jiu-Jitsu, and the things the truly matter in my life.

That said I feel like I deserve my purple belt and am elated to take on the new set of challenges in my training. On and off the mat, I’m at a whole new level…

3 thoughts on “The Age of the Purple Belt…and other reflections for the year.

  1. Congrats man, purple and brown were my toughest promotions. Blue and black just kind of happened!

    As far as goals, you’re a lot more consistent than I am, but at the same time BJJ is something I’m going to do the rest of my life, health willing. So I’m always thinking in terms of balance and sustainability. Therefore, I rarely ‘force’ myself to train, and never ‘force’ two days back to back.

    I guess if there’s a goal for me now it’s to enjoy myself on the mat and trust this will take me further in the long term that trying to manufacture something from the outside-in regardless of what everyone else is doing. I’m on my own ‘trip’ so to speak. =)

    Anyways man, congrats again and cheers!
    Jeff

    • I know it’s far delayed but thanks for the comment! We have several black belts that have been recently promoted in our school and they’re faced with the same challenges, but one they’re facing with many answers. I’m hoping to find more of my game and identity as a purple belt so that when I reach brown, I’ll know I earned it!

  2. mungryghost thought you maybe didn’t like the comment. lol

    You are correct and wise in the observation of many questions at Black. It’s like I’ve graduated, what the hell do I do now? Graduate courses, work, travel?

    Most important IMO is feeling blessed for the journey that preceded, and being in position to have a range of new choices. Life is good no matter what path one takes. =)

Leave a comment